Kim’s Entertainment Blog

November 11, 2009

Thoughts on what I’ve been watching lately . . .

Yeah, I know, it’s been a while!  I’ve been busy watching a lot of things . . . just haven’t had time to do much posting!  Instead of individual posts on what I like and don’t like, you’re stuck with this giant post! 

Mondays

House (Global, 8pm): Still the best hour of television, in my opinion!  Watching House become more “human” has been an intense journey, and I really like the direction they’ve taken the characters so far.  Watching the “old team” work together while the “new team” drifted away, has filled me with nostalgia.  This past week’s episode had some great House-Cuddy scenes, and some great humour!

One Tree Hill (The CW, 8pm): Yup, the show is definitely different without Lucas and Peyton!  For the most part, I don’t really miss them too much . . . though the show has definitely lost its edge!  I like a couple of the new characters, particularly Nathan’s agent Clayton, and Brooke’s boyfriend Julian.  I can’t say I’m overly crazy about Quinn, Hayley’s sister.  The storyline involving the woman who accused Nathan of getting her pregnant was interesting, but didn’t exactly cover new territory.

Gossip Girl (The CW, 9pm): Yeah, I’m not so sure I’m feeling the whole college thing!  The show has become increasingly unbelievable.  Normally that would be okay, but this completely stretches the limits of credulity!  An 18 year old running a multimillion dollar company?  A college student still clinging to the idea of wealth and hierarchy?  Another 18 year old landing a job as a publicist?  I mean the list just goes on.  I still watch though – I do like Hillary Duff’s character Olivia, and Vanessa. 

Tuesdays

NCIS (Global, 8pm): I was so happy they managed to bring Ziva back to the team in a way that actually made some sense!  I was a little disappointed with their rescue episode, but overall, I’m enjoying this season!  The sexual tension between Tony and Ziva is still palpable, and the humour and camraderie is what keeps drawing me in!  It doesn’t hurt that Mark Harmon and Michael Weatherly are so hot!

Law and Order: Special Victim’s Unit (CTV, 10pm): While I don’t think this season is necessarily breaking any new ground, I still enjoy all the Law and Order shows.  The cases are usually borrowed straight from the headlines, and I enjoy figuring out which cases they are using and how they’re going to change things up a bit.  I am completely thrilled that Stephanie March is back as ADA Alex Cabot!  When they brought her back for a few episodes last season I was super-excited and had hoped they would bring her back permanently.  When the season opened and Christine Lahti was the new ADA, I was disappointed.  Having said that, I thought the storyline involving Christine Lahti’s character and her ultimate undoing was extremely compelling!

Wednesdays

America’s Next Top Model (The CW, 8pm): While the idea of having petite models was fresh, I’ve not really loved this whole season.  The format is starting to feel really stale, and I can’t really say that any of the models have been really compelling for me.  I think they’re all a little weak when compared to some of the previous winners.  I still love the Jays though, and for now, that’s enough to keep me watching.

Bones (Global, 8pm): How is it possible that the sexual tension between Brennan and Booth has gotten even stronger?  The real draw of this show is the characters, and I’m loving every minute of it!  I’m so glad to see that Stewie hasn’t made any reappearances – I was really concerned towards the end of last season that the show had “jumped the shark” and would have lost some of its steam! 

Thursdays

Survivor (Global, 8pm): Talk about an interesting season!  Having Russell on has given us a whole new evil genius villain in Survivor lore!  The guy is such an egomaniac – but whatever he’s been doing has worked so far!  We’ll see if last week’s “playing the idol” move ultimately proves to be his undoing!

Grey’s Anatomy (CTV, 9pm): I have to give credit where credit is due: the show has managed to become somewhat interesting again after last season’s sex-with-a-ghost debacle!  It’s not perfect, but definitely more watchable this season!  The storyline involving the merger with Mercy West has promise, though so far all it’s done is introduce a bunch of new characters who inflate an already large cast!  I’m glad to see Derek and Meredith doing so well though.  I miss George, but not as much as I thought I would!

90210 (Global, 10pm): Yes, I know the show airs on Tuesdays, but I like watching it on Thursdays!  The show has been good this season.  I like the new characters they’ve introduced, and I think the storylines are good right now.  I really feel like the show has created an identity and following completely separate from the original, and I now tune in not because I want to see members of the original cast, but because I care about these new kids!  I don’t care so much for Annie, actually, but I like Dixon, Silver, Navid and Adrianna!

Fridays

Law and Order (NBC, 8pm): The show is starting to feel a little tired, but it’s still watchable!  It’s nice to see a little bit of the character’s lives, which we get the most of with Lt. Van Buren’s cancer storyline.  I’m glad to see last season’s characters all back this season.  I like ADA Connie Rubirosa the best.

Ugly Betty (Citytv, 9pm): Last season’s heartbreaking conclusion for Daniel hasn’t really translated that well into this season, at least for me.  I believe that he misses Molly, but I don’t see the same strength of storytelling that I saw at the end of last season.  I am glad to see Betty working at her new job, and I think her makeover is cute!  The characters aren’t quite geling for me yet though.  The storyline with Wilhemina and her daughter Nico has promise.  I think they need to ditch Matt as a character though . . . all this tension between him and Betty is annoying!

Sundays

The Amazing Race (CTV, 8pm): I still love this show!  I love being able to travel to all these amazing countries and see the world without leaving my house!  The challenges are fun to watch, and my favourite team, the Globetrotters Flight Time and Big Easy, are still in it!  I hope they win!

Desperate Housewives (CTV, 9pm): Okay, we now know that Mike married Susan.  To me it seems like their marriage has already entered tired and boring territory though!  Granted they have the huge distraction of Julie’s attack and Katherine’s obsession with Mike to contend with, but I’m just not seeing reignited passion between them!  Bree is still as icy as ever, and watching her with Carl is a little like seeing a traffic accident – you’re disgusted but you just can’t look away!  I think it’s an interesting plot twist to make Lynette pregnant, but I think it’s time they start to reveal that she’s pregnant!

Well, dear readers, that wraps it up for me right now.  What are your thoughts on your favourite shows?

1 Comment »

  1. ok (re: Ugly Betty) i love the tension between betty and matt – I say get them back together!

    Ditto for House, it’s definitely been interesting…

    Comment by SheRa — November 16, 2009 @ 10:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

