Kim’s Entertainment Blog

October 24, 2009

A Brief Rant

Filed under: Uncategorized — tvlover1 @ 11:05 pm
Tags: ,

Tonight I was out seeing a movie, and something about the whole experience really bugged me.  The movie itself, The Stepfather, starring Penn Badgley, Sela Ward and Dylan Walsh, was okay.  Not a stunning achievement in filmmaking or acting, but a decent enough couple of hours of mindless entertainment, which is what I wanted.

No, what bothered me was the stupid twits (and I’m trying to be polite here) who sat down next to me.  Since they entered the theatre after the lights had dimmed, it was hard to tell how old they were, though my guess would be between 15 and 19.  First, they couldn’t decide where they wanted to sit.  It was bad enough that they had to park themselves right next to me in a theatre that wasn’t at all full, but they couldn’t even settle into their seats without a loud discussion about which of them would sit closest to the aisle.  Seriously girls, you cam in at the last minute, so just sit down and SHUT UP!

Next came the loud conversation that continued throughout the previews.  One would ask the others a question about what was being shown on the screen, and the others would give a considered, thoughful response (note the sarcasm here, people)!  The questions they were asking demonstrated pretty clearly to me that these girls were pretty dumb.  But fine, I tried to keep an open mind thinking that maybe, just maybe, they’d shut up when the movie started.  Wrong!  But that was probably initially because they couldn’t figure out that the movie had started!  The Mensa candidate sitting next to me actually said, “oh, is this the movie?  I don’t get it!” during the first scene.  If that weren’t bad enough, in one scene early in the movie you see the bodies of a mother and her children lying around a house, clearly dead.  One of the girls said something like, “why are they sleeping on the floor like that?” and one of her friends had to tell her, “they’re dead!”

If all that weren’t bad enough, the girls would scream, loudly, when something “frightening” or startling happened.  I say “frightening” because the plot of the movie was very predictable, and it shocks me that anyone could be surprised, shocked, or scared at what happened on the screen!  But no, these girls would scream as though they were watching the most gruesome and shocking horror movie ever made!  I have to admit that by the end of the movie, I was getting way more amusement from listening to the guys sitting two rows in front of us mocking the screaming girls than I was getting from the movie!  Too bad the girls were too dumb to figure out they were being mocked!

In closing, I just want to say, once again, that talking during a movie is EXTREMELY RUDE and you SHOULDN’T do it!  If you want to talk, leave the theatre and let the rest of us watch the movie in peace and quiet! I know I’m not likely to get this next request granted, but if you are a stupid person who screams and doesn’t shut up during a movie, please DON’T SIT NEXT TO ME!!!!!!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

