Kim’s Entertainment Blog

October 11, 2009

Whip It!

Filed under: Uncategorized — tvlover1 @ 10:41 am
Tags:

Yesterday I saw Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut, Whip It!  I loved it!  The movie doesn’t necessarily cover any new ground (teenager has a difficult relationship with her mom, etc.), but it still entertains! 

The real treat of this movie is the actors!  Each takes their character and infuses that character with joy and humanity.  The standouts for me were Ellen Page as the main character, Bliss “Babe Ruthless” Cavendar, Marcia Gay Harden as her mother, Daniel Stern as her father, and Kristen Wiig as “Maggie Mayhem.” 

Personally, I could have done without the whole romantic storyline in the movie, but otherwise, the plot came together nicely for me.  I also enjoyed seeing the roller derby scenes, and it actually really makes me want to see a live roller derby! 

Altogether, I would recommend this movie to others, and definitely want to see it again on DVD!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

