Kim’s Entertainment Blog

August 2, 2009

Funny People

Filed under: Uncategorized — tvlover1 @ 8:42 pm
Tags:

Here’s the thing: I want to like Adam Sandler.  Every time I hear about a new Adam Sandler movie I think it has the potential to be funny, and if I end up seeing it, I’m disappointed!  The only movie I liked him in was “Spanglish” and I think that’s because it wasn’t supposed to be an outright comedy!

Anyways, today I saw the new Judd Apatow comedy, “Funny People” starring Adam Sandler, Seth Rogen, and Leslie Mann.  This movie was NOT funny at all.  It was crude and crass, which isn’t always a bad thing, but in this case, it just offers nothing to the plot.  The story meanders and loses a lot of steam about half way through.  It was also too long!  I found myself checking my watch frequently hoping the movie was almost over.  Most of the characters are just whiny and annoying, particularly Leslie Mann.  As an aside I have to say, it really, really annoys me that Judd Apatow casts his wife and in this case, both daughters, in his movies.  I know it shouldn’t bother me, but it really does!  It doesn’t bother me at all when Tim Burton casts Helena Bonham Carter (probably has something to do with the fact that Helena Bonham Carter CAN actually act!) in his movies!

Here’s a list of what I liked in this movie: seeing Eric Bana (hottie!) and hearing his Australian accent, seeing a slimmer and more attractive Seth Rogen, and all the cameos by actual funny people.  That’s it.  I do NOT recommend this movie to anyone!

Readers, have you seen this movie?  What did you think of it?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

