Kim’s Entertainment Blog

July 9, 2009

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Filed under: Uncategorized — tvlover1 @ 8:47 pm
Tags: , ,

This post is part of a series of posts counting down to the opening of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.  I’m following along with the Movie Moxie’s countdown.  To read her post, click here.

It was only after reading the Movie Moxie’s post that I realized this movie came out two whole years ago.  Yikes!!  Where has the time gone?  The question of time reflects how I feel about watching this movie and comparing it to the first movie.  Oh my how these kids have matured!  They are now entering an age in their lives that is dictated by turmoil.  If they were “regular” teenagers, they would only have to contend with battling their raging hormones and trying to figure out who they are and what they’re about.  But because this is a world divided into wizards and muggles, these kids have to face the real danger and turmoil created by Lord Voldemort’s return.  This film definitely treats that threat seriously!

There are some moments of pure joy in this film however.  My favourite scene of all the films is when Fred and George create havoc with fireworks during the school’s O.W.L exams.  Pure movie magic! 

For me, the best part of this movie is the cast.  Playing the role of Dolores Umbridge we have Imelda Staunton.  She was, in my opinion, excellent.  This character made me view kittens and the colour pink in a whole new and disturbing light!  As the wonderfully offbeat Luna Lovegood, we have newcomer Evanna Lynch.  She is exactly what I pictured in my mind when I read the book.  I love how she’s considered a bit “strange” in the wizarding world but totally doesn’t care!  The best character for me though was Helena Bonham Carter as Bellatrix Lestrange.  The woman was totally creepy, evil and insane! 

I think the challenge of this movie was condensing a huge book into a two-hour movie.  Hopefully as this challenge continues to present itself, we can look forward to more high quality movies that really honour the carefully crafted book series given to us by J.K. Rowling!

2 Comments »

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more Kim, this was such a treat of a film and the women really went to town. The choice to make Umbridge sickly-sweet yet pink’n’cat evil was brilliant. I think I’ve loved Helena Bonham Carter in everything I’ve seen her in but oh my goodness as Bellatrix? A dark delight. Luna is such a lovely addition as well, showing that odd doesn’t necessarily mean bad – and Harry learns from her of all people.

    I can’t wait for the Half-Blood Prince!

    Comment by Shannon the Movie Moxie — July 12, 2009 @ 4:36 pm | Reply

  2. I read this story online that the young woman who plays Luna, Evanna Lynch, was a huge Harry Potter fan growing up! Apparently she wrote letters to J.K. Rowling and didn’t think she’d ever get a chance to be a character in the movie since she’s from such a small town. I love that story! I think she’s a great addition to the Harry Potter family, and I love that such a big fan is a part of the movie-making process!

    Comment by tvlover1 — July 12, 2009 @ 7:57 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

