Kim’s Entertainment Blog

June 14, 2009

Harry Potter Countdown Part I

Filed under: Uncategorized — tvlover1 @ 9:27 am
Tags: , ,

Reading the Movie Moxie’s blog reminded me that we’re 4 weeks away from the release of the newest Harry Potter movie, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince!  To pass the time, and honour the series, the Movie Moxie is doing a countdown of the Harry Potter movies on her blog.  To read her review of the first movie, which inspired me to do my own countdown, click here.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was first released in 2001.  I remember greatly anticipating the movie as I was so passionate over the books.  I saw the movie the first weekend it was released – talk about crowded theatres!  I loved the movie though, and new that if the same quality of film-making could be maintained, the series would be amazing!  So far, I haven’t once been disappointed!

I bought a VHS copy of the movie when it was available for purchase.  It was watched many, many times!  I’m glad I was finally able to replace my VHS copy with a DVD – they last longer!

The Philosopher’s Stone does an excellent job of introducing us to the world of magic, and the characters of the Harry Potter series.  As a muggle (non-magical person), the world of magic is an amorphous, fantastical world not necessarily open to me.    The movie really gives shape and substance to magic, and it is a world I want to revisit many times! 

I thought Chris Columbus (Home Alone, Mrs. Doubtfire) did a great job directing.  He sets the tone for the whole franchise.  I don’t know if he had any input in casting, but he takes basically unknown actors and actresses, and turns them into Harry Potter, Ron Weasly, and Hermione Granger.  The film really focuses on these characters, and the young children who star in the movie do a great job of bringing their book characters to life!  I know the Harry Potter movies ignited quite the Daniel Radcliffe obsession!  In addition to the casting of the children, the supporting cast of this movie is fantastic!  Already a fan of Alan Rickman, I was very excited to see him as Professor Severus Snape*.  He gave me chills!  Maggie Smith stars as Professor Minerva McGonagall, and Richard Harris as Professor Albus Dumbledore.  These two characters are extremely important to the whole series, and they are portrayed with love and care.  The casting of Robbie Coltrane as Rubeus Hagrid was brilliant, and in my mind, there is no better Hagrid!

The themes explored in this movie are timeless.  Good vs evil, courage, and friendship all play important roles in telling this story.  The themes will be explored again in various incarnations in the other movies as well.  They are at their most basic forms here in this movie, which makes sense for it being the first story in the series, and for the kids being so young.

What is a movie, or a series, without a strong nemesis?  This movie gives us our first introduction to You-Know-Who, a truly evil and repugnant villian in every sense of the word.  I like how scary yet mysterious he is in this first story.  Yes, he’s present, but not really in ultra-dangerous form yet.  His mere existence is enough to terrorize us for now!

Overall, I loved this movie.  It really set the tone of the series for me, and left me in eager anticipation for more! 

* Note to self: investigate the theory of character names, and how said names influence character and personality later in life!

2 Comments »

  1. I’m so excited that you have decided to do the countdown as well!

    It’s so true that the theatres were very busy when this was released, and it was nice to see people going out to the movies. Seeing the first film again was so much fun and it really is a great introduction to the world!

    Looking forward to your thoughts on The Chamber of Secrets!

    Comment by Shannon the Movie Moxie — June 15, 2009 @ 4:00 pm | Reply

    • I’m really excited to revisit the Chamber of Secrets, actually! I’m going to try and fit it in this week if I can 🙂

      Thanks for having me along for the countdown ride!

      Comment by tvlover1 — June 15, 2009 @ 7:07 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

