Kim’s Entertainment Blog

June 4, 2009

Top 5 Sitcoms

Filed under: Uncategorized — tvlover1 @ 9:53 pm

As a general rule, I don’t watch too many sitcoms.  don’t dislike them per se, but I find myself more often attracted to one hour dramas, procedural crime shows, etc.  Life just wouldn’t be worth living without laughter though, and to that end, I’ve compiled my list of top 5 sitcoms!  You’ll quickly notice, as I did, that all my favourite characters use sarcasm as their primary source of humour, which probably goes a long way to explaining why I’m so sarcastic!

5. Cheers Everyone knew their names from 1982 to 1993!  I can’t say for sure that I saw every single episode of this show, but turning on the tv to hear the familiar cry of “Norm!”, or listen to Cliff spout of some piece of obscure trivia, or hear Carla say something sarcastic, or see Sam hit on a woman was strangely comforting.  The theme song was a total classic (I even learned how to play it on the organ) and I can still hum most of it!  My favourite  characters were Carla, Norm, Frasier and Lilith.

4. Friends Now this is a show I’m positive I watched every epsisode of . . . multiple times!  There was a time, not that long ago (1994 to 2004, to be exact), when the show was so pervasive in our culture that people would go to their hairdressers to request “The Rachel,” and great debates would be held over whether or not “they were really on a break!”  I was really happy when Monica and Chandler got together, seeing as how Chandler was my favourite character!

3. Roseanne Another show I’m sure I’ve seen every episode of!  It ran from 1988 to 1997.  If memory serves me correctly, it was fairly groundbreaking for its time.  It does somewhat follow the traditional formula of “shrewish wife who constantly nags long-suffering husband,” but unlike other similar shows (Everybody Loves Raymond, King of Queens, etc.), you don’t look at Dan and Roseanne and think to yourself “how did a shlub like that end up with an attractive wife like her?!”  Besides, at the end of the day, you knew that Dan and Roseanne loved each other.  Hands down though, my favourite character was their daughter Darlene

2. Frasier Introduced as a spin-off to Cheers, this sitcom followed the character of Dr. Frasier Crane and ran from 1993 to 2004.  This show was so cerebral in its humour that to this day, when I watch episodes in syndication, I catch on to a new nuance of hilarity and enjoy the episode that much more!  I’m not sure that I can actually pick a favourite character since most of them used sarcasm to great effect!

1. The Big Bang Theory A relatively new show (it premiered in 2007), this show regularly makes me laugh outloud!  I can’t help but grin when I think about Sheldon, Leonard and their nerdy friends having some kind of nerdy conversation!  My all-time favourite episode (and this is likely to remain my all-time favourite sitcom episode of ANY sitcom forever) is definitely “The Maternal Capacitance” as it featured the brilliant comedic timing of Christine Baranski playing the character of Leonard’s mother.  I laughed so hard during this episode that I nearly peed my pants!  This show most definitely appeals to the inner nerd that’s in all of us!

Honourable mentions for my favourite sitcoms should also go to The Simpsons, which didn’t make the list only because there was a time in my life when I hated this show; Malcolm in the Middle, which I still enjoy sometimes but think it goes over the top a lot; Mad About You, which always made me smile.

What about you, my lovely readers?  Even if you’ve only just stumbled upon this post by accident, I’d still love to hear your opinions!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

