Kim’s Entertainment Blog

May 30, 2009

Up

Filed under: Uncategorized — tvlover1 @ 11:55 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve just returned home from seeing the movie Up with some friends.  I LOVED it!  It has lots of warmth and humour, and truly has the makings to be another hit movie for the Disney/Pixar studios.  I am going to attempt to keep my review spoiler-free . . .

For me, this movie had a lot more genuine expressions of love in it than previous Disney/Pixar movies (with the exception of Wall-E, which, don’t hate me for saying, I didn’t particularly love).  I nearly teared up a few times, and my movie companions said they did cry in a couple of parts.  The feelings in this movie were very genuine, and very beautifully portrayed by the voice cast (particularly Ed Asner as the main character, Carl).  I think, though I may be wrong here, some of the relationships in the movie will go right over the kids’ heads, but will definitely strike a chord with their adult chaperones.  

For a studio that spends so much time bringing animals and other non-human characters “to life,” they did a kick-ass job with the humans in this movie.  The character of Russel is a total real-life kid that I could picture walking down the street.  But it is the depiction of senior citizen Carl that really charms the moviegoer.  I have heard interviews with Pete Docter, the director, where he talks about basing the character of Carl on his grandfather and other elderly people related to studio staff, and I think his attention to detail really pays off! 

Similar attention to detail is paid to the South American setting.  I believe I read somewhere that the animators actually did travel to South American jungles to get the feel of the plant and animals.  I’ve gotta give props to people who care so much about accuracy and are clearly passionate about their jobs!

I saw the movie in 3D.  To be honest, this movie would have been equally enjoyable in regular 2D format.  The particular special effects of this movie weren’t necessarily enhanced by the 3D glasses, at least for me.  I saw a few previews for other 3D movies (including a certain June 18, 2010 release that I’m already anticipating) that probably lend themselves a little better to the format, but hey, it was fun nonethless.

It remains to be seen if this particular movie will end up joining the ranks of my top 5 favourite Disney movies, but it is definitely one of the best movies I’ve seen recently!

Readers, if you have seen Up, what did you think of it?  It you haven’t seen it, are you planning to?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

